You are here: Home / About / History


The McCourtney Institute for Democracy began as the Democracy Institute in 2012. John Gastil served as director from 2012-2016 and Mark Major served as associate director. Christopher Beem was hired as Managing Director in 2015 and Michael Berkman became director in 2016.

In 2014, Tracy and Ted McCourtney gave a transformative $3 million gift to secure the Institute's future.