You are here: Home / Research / Brown Democracy Medal

Brown Democracy Medal

The medal brings new ideas and innovations the public recognition they deserve, thereby accelerating their positive impact on democracy.

The Laurence and Lynne Brown Democracy Medal spotlights and honors the best work being done to advance democracy in the United States and internationally. Under the award program, the McCourtney Institute for Democracy will recognize practical innovations, such as new institutions, practices, technologies or organizations that advance the cause of democracy along with theoretical advances that enrich philosophical or empirical conceptions of democracy.

The Brown Democracy Medal and $5,000 are awarded annually. The winning project is published by an academic press. Winners are invited to Penn State's University Park campus to accept the medal, give a public lecture, and appear on the Democracy Works podcast.

2019 Recipient

David Farrell and Jane Suiter for the Irish Citizens' Assembly Project 

Past Recipients

2018: Public Mapping Project

2017: Albert Dzur, Bowling Green State University

2016: Electoral Integrity Project

2015: Joan C. Tronto, University of Minnesota

2014: Josh Lerner, Participatory Budgeting Project